The Big Announcement

_MGL7526666Yesterday my phone was going off. McGregor vs. Mayweather had been announced, and people from all walks of life started messaging me about the news. Unbeknownst to many of them, I had departed from The Money Team in August of 2016 to pursue other ambitions. My cousin from New York sent me a text asking about fight tickets, and I had to deliver the shocking news that, yes, I will not be involved in TBE’s quest for 50-0. Unlike 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, and 49, this time around, I will not be designing the merchandise for themoneyteam.com, for Floyd’s training camp, or for fight night.

As my cousin digested this familial update, she returned the favor and said something that caught me by surprise: “You know I told my friends that you worked with Mayweather on TMT and they were like you are the shit. No Asian guy gets that type of respect from black ppl… They found you an inspiration for Asian guys”

Well, first of all, thanks to all the Asian homies for the love. And secondly, thanks to my cousin for bringing this perspective to my attention. It actually fueled me to buckle down at Starbucks and do something with a book that I have been working on for over two years. I’ve written hundreds of pages on my experience running The Money Team brand, but I never released anything because, to be honest, at the end of the day none of that shit was impressive to me. After writing three different drafts, I was confused about which direction to run with for a book. Really, who would want to buy a book about some Asian dude who made shirts and hats with Mayweather? I didn’t see the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow, so all of this material just stayed buried deep in my hard drive.

Fortunately, I have some free time on my hands nowadays. More importantly, I’ve got a free state of mind to rewind through the past four years and carve out the content that I feel will add value to a reader’s life. Even the original idea to write a book wasn’t mine; a friend who got her MBA at Cambridge kept hounding me about sharing my knowledge with the world,, and I took a stab at it because that’s what entrepreneurs do–or should. I try everything once. I gauged the downside risk, which in this case was time, and evaluated the upside, which is possibly inspiring millions of Asians.

The most recent book angle was to frame my experience as Floyd Mayweather’s partner under the title “The New MBA.”. I attended the University of Oxford from 2010-2011, and in my particular case, 99% of the academic subjects I consumed had zero influence on how I operated a celebrity lifestyle brand. I don’t regret my six-figure education for one second, but I had to figure out all the business stuff on my own. No business school frameworks translated into revenue for me, and I had never sold one shirt or hat prior to joining forces with “Money”, so how did we crack eight figures in revenue in the first three years of business?

Well, this is my story.

 

 


Leave a Reply

